Setting Up Your Own Pre-Loaded Linux Distro

Source: To-Do List After Installing Ubuntu 11.10 

Ever wished you could make a copy of your computer’s hard drive, then carry it around with you on USB Flash/Pen Drive so you would always have your favorite software with you? Like many others, I’ve taken advantage of Linux distributions–entire operating systems–that can be run off a flash drive. However, one of the challenges has been not having access to my favorite programs, like Shutter an image capture program that allows me to easily edit snapshots not unlike Skitch, to work from.

While skimming the To-Do List After Installing Ubuntu 11.10, I stumbled across software installation instructions for something I’ve long heard and read about, but hadn’t yet attempted. Since much of what I’ve learned in using Linux–including server setup–is self-directed learning, and I had time earlier tonight (I’m writing this blog entry on Sunday but publishing sometime later this week), I decided to give it a try.
Surprisingly, it worked first time out of the gate. Wow, what a shock. I’m finding that to be a common experience–things just work–with Linux these days, especially Ubuntu-derivatives like the LubuntuLinux that I use.
The following is an excerpt from the blog entry linked earlier in this post:

Remastersys is a free and open source program for Debian, Ubuntu-based, or derivative software systems that can create a customized Live CD/DVD (a remaster) of Debian and its derivatives. Backup an entire system, including user data (optional), to an installable Live CD/DVD/USB Flash Drive with Unetbootin.

The process is pretty straightforward and you can read it in full–with screenshots–at the link above. However, here’s generally the process I followed:
  1. Open the appropriate list of repositories on your Linux distro from Terminal:
    sudo leafpad /etc/apt/sources.list
  2. Paste in the repository below at the bottom of the sources.list document:
    deb http://www.remastersys.com/repository lucid/
  3. At the command line, type the following:
    sudo apt-get update sudo apt-get install remastersys sudo apt-get install b43-fwcutter ndisgtk ntfs-3g ntfs-config
  4. Start the Remastersys program, which will appear in your SystemTools menu.
What will pop up will be a screen similar to the one shown below:
Some of the adjustments I made were to the Settings tab, as follows:

Note the adjustments to the Username to reflect mine rather than “custom” as well as the CDLabel and Filename. After you’ve made the adjustments, I choose the option selected below:

I’m still a rank beginner at this, but even so, I was able to create my own pre-loaded USB key with the ISO file created by the Remastersys process. That file gets stored at /home/Remastersys directory.

Moving it from an ISO file onto my USB flash drive (4gigs) was facilitated by UNETBootin, an easy to use program I’ve written about before.

Woohoo!
😉


Get Blog Updates via Email!

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner



Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

Leave a Reply

