Moniguel – Celebrating 22 Years!

Miguel Guhlin and Monica Mazuca…she said, “Yes!”
December, 1989
You know, when I started down this road 22 years ago on March 17, 1990 (our official anniversary date), I didn’t really appreciate how quick the time would pass, only that I’d have a companion that would make every moment count. My parents didn’t quite approve my marrying at such a young age (20 when I proposed, 21 when I married) to an older woman (26, six years my senior but just right for my serious demeanor), and I soon found myself making my way in the world with my love, Monica.

“Moniguel” (“Monica+Miguel”) was a fun imagining, a dream and it represented our first child, who we were together as a couple. And, thank goodness, we were graced with more than one. I still remember how our firstborn (about to graduate this year) was supposed to be aborted (per Doctor’s strongly worded suggestion) and how we decided against that (kicked that doctor in the teeth just about). Instead, we have a beautiful daughter who is smarter than we both were together, and a young man who is growing up straight and tall.

Every time I look in the back seat, see those two kids, I can’t help but be amazed at how far we’ve come. I’m grateful to God, to my family, to all who helped us make it. All the trials and tribulations make this song our favorite one…
I could certainly write about a lot of the fun stuff over the years, but I’ll end it with a simple, “Thank you, Lord, for walking with us, and making every day full of blessings, especially the tough ones.” In fact, here’s the poem we passed out at our wedding and reception and it’s still true as ever:

God hath not promised skies always blue,
Flower-strewn pathways all our lives through.
God hath not promised sun without rain,
Joy without sorrow, peace without pain. 

But God hath promised strength for the day,
Rest for the laborer, light for the way,
Grace for the trials, help from above,
Unfailing sympathy, undying love.

What more to say, except, “Amen!”


Get Blog Updates via Email!

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner



Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

2 thoughts on “Moniguel – Celebrating 22 Years!

  1. José Vega March 17, 2012 at 7:49 pm Reply

    Congratulations!

  2. Mark Davila March 18, 2012 at 1:08 am Reply

    Oh, that's beautiful! We're so happy for you two! Mark and Kathy Davila

Leave a Reply

