iPad Workflows – Getting Work on/off your #iPad #tf13

iPad Workflows – Getting Work on/off your iPad

workflow.jpg
Image Source: http://goo.gl/5efXY

iPads work differently than computers; that is, they have a different workflow. While that is often a blessing, it can also be a bit of a problem when you want to share work easily with others. Make sure you get the free apps mentioned below, as well as adjust your settings prior to taking advantage of the workflows illustrated with video and step by step instructions below.

Scenarios You May Encounter

  • iPad Scenario #1 – I have images/pictures, videos, PDF files, ePub-formatted eBooks that I want to copy to my iPad from my computer, AND I have content on my computer that I want to put on my iPad.


  • iPad Scenario #2 – My students have spent the last week creating their video in SonicPics and PinnacleStudio and have exported it to the Camera Roll on their iPad. How do I get those videos onto my iPad without using GoogleDrive, Dropbox, etc.?


  • iPad Scenario #3 – My students have spent the last week creating their Keynote presentation. I’d like students to share a copy of their presentation with me. How can I get them to share to my iPad from their iPad without having to mess with a computer?


  • iPad Scenario #4 – My students have spent serious time creating their Keynote presentation and I’d like them to have a copy of it in Keynote or Powerpoint format, even if they don’t have an iPad. Can they save their Keynote file to Google Drive, work on it with their Mac computer (which has Keynote), save it back to Google Drive, then open it on their school iPad while in class?


  • iPad Scenario #5 – My students have spent serious time creating their Keynote presentation and I’d like them to turn it in via Edmodo.com. Can they save their Keynote file to Edmodo?
  • iPad Scenario #6 – How do I connect to an FTP server from my iPad?


Adjust Your App Settings

    • Note: These workflows depend on several apps available at no charge on iOS devices. You will need to adjust the settings on these apps to reflect the following information:
    App Settings to Adjust
    Readdle Documents

    Cost: Free on iPad.

    General Tab: This tab covers security and protection. You can leave settings as is.
    Wi-Fi Drive: Switch the “Enable Drive” setting to ON. If in a public environment, turn ON “Ask for Password.”
    Sync: If using iCloud, choose the appropriate Automatic Sync setting or disable it. Set “Use New WebDAV Engine” to ON.
    File Manager: Switch the “Show Photos” to ON. This will allow you to make copies of photos/videos you have in your Camera Roll/Photo Library.

    That’s all! Tap on “Close” to finish adjusting settings.

    Google Drive

    Cost: Free on iPad

    There are no settings to adjust except initial login to your Google Drive using your credentials.
    Edmodo The Edmodo app works great on the iPad and you can connect it to your other accounts (e.g. Google Drive).


    Check out Miguel’s Workshop Materials online at http://mglearns.wikispaces.com


    Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

    var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

    One thought on “iPad Workflows – Getting Work on/off your #iPad #tf13

    1. Kathy Schrock April 18, 2013 at 1:09 am Reply

      I have some additional workflow links here: http://www.ipads4teaching.net/classroom-workflow.html

    Leave a Reply

