Turn Your Android Phone into a WiFi Hotspot @pdanetandroid

Two nights ago, my Internet provider went dark. While the family stared longingly at the television set, then finally settled for watching some previously recorded videos on the DVR (yes,yes, we missed the opportunity to family bonding), I retreated to my office to write.

As I procrastinated–a writer’s second favorite past-time–I remembered that I should be able to turn my Android phone into a WiFi hotspot. Unfortunately, I couldn’t figure out how to do it, even though I turned on the appropriate settings.

I ended up revisiting (view old comparison chart) two apps that I’d used previously, Easy Tether and PDAnet+FoxFi. Unfortunately, EasyTether at $10 was more than I wanted to pay (and I’d already paid for it once upon a time for a different Motorola Android phone, so paying for it again for my current phone irritated me). PDAnet+, though, offered a free version that would disconnect after some usage.

FoxFi enables WiFi Hotspot on your Android phone – no tether plan or rooting required! You can connect your tablets, computers or game console with WPA2 security. FoxFi usage is covered under your phone’s existing data plan. Check to see if WiFi mode is supported on your phone model.
If WiFi mode is not support on your phone model, please use USB mode or Bluetooth mode in PdaNet+ instead. It supports all phones.
To install PdaNet+, on your phone go to http://pdanet.co/bin

PDAnet+ worked great, creating a wireless hotspot that I could connect to with my mobile devices.

Whew! Of course, I did have to explain to my family, “How are you connected when we aren’t?” Ahh, the perils of connectivity!


Check out Miguel’s Workshop Materials online at http://mglearns.wikispaces.com


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

One thought on “Turn Your Android Phone into a WiFi Hotspot @pdanetandroid

  1. Jo Davis October 14, 2013 at 12:42 am Reply

    Aloha! My name is Jo Davis from EDM310at the University of South Alabama. This post caught my interest even though I do not have an android phone. I find wifi/mobile/gadget technology most fascinating. It is very interesting purely from a technical standpoint and I really like your writing. I cant wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

