Looking for Books

“I want to fill my room with books,” shared a friend of my daughter. “Do you have any you want to get rid of?”

Source: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ERqnwjXkg-0

While my daughter’s friend’s desire is to fill his room with paper books, my goal is to get rid of them. I still have two bookshelves of books I have not yet acquired (purchased) in digital format. Some may never find their way into ebook format…but wouldn’t it be neat if they did? My idea of minimalist office is what you often see on Star Trek (Captain Kirk’s desire for print books notwithstanding).

A few days ago, I shared how much fun I’m having with my Nook SimpleTouch, which has made ebook reading a lot “speedier” compared to my 1st-gen Nook and “lighter” compared to my iPad.

Add caption

Like anyone else, I’m always on the lookout for fresh content to consume, and I found this list from OpenCulture.com worth checking out…you may as well!

  • Free eBooks – “This collection features free e-books, mostly classics, that you can read on your iPad/iPhone, Kindle, Nook or other devices. It includes great works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry. “
  • Free Audio Books: What better way to spend your free time than listening to some of the greatest books ever written? This page contains a vast number of free audio books – 550 works in total – including texts by Arthur Conan Doyle, James Joyce, Jane Austen, Edgar Allan Poe, George Orwell and more recent writers — Italo Calvino, Vladimir Nabokov, Raymond Carver, etc. 
  • Free Textbooks: And one last item for the lifelong learners among you. We have scoured the web and pulled together a list of 150 Free Textbooks. It’s a great resource particularly if you’re looking to learn math, computer science or physics on your own. 

And, of course, don’t forget these sources of DRM-free ebooks:


Make Donations via PayPal below:


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

One thought on “Looking for Books

  1. --David January 6, 2014 at 4:14 am Reply

    Is he still looking for books? I would love to send some his way!

Leave a Reply

