Loving @LucidPress – Collab Web and Desktop Publishing

A few weeks ago, I threw my hands up. “After all these years,” I cried, “why can’t anyone make an easy to use, simple but powerful desktop publishing tool?” You see, I was in the midst of creating a print newsletter for my work. I thought, “Some easy program to use would be great!”

Made using Cheezburger’s Posterbuilder (click CREATE top right corner)

A veteran desktop publishing–after all, PRINT was IN during my time growing up and as a young education professional–nut, I wasn’t looking for Scribus (which wasn’t as easy as I’d hoped), or LibreOffice or Apple’s Pages. None of those tools quite did it for me.

Then, I tried LucidPress.com and absolutely love it! I strongly encourage you to give it a try. Here’s what my current layout looks like:

Update: What the final product looks like

As you can see from the screenshot above, you can easily add multiple pages. Another neat feature is that you have your image library close to hand…images from ALL publications you’ve created are available, not just the current publication you are working on.

Anything you can create can be saved as a PDF, but you can also embed content on a web site if it allows iFrames (darn, GoogleSites doesn’t).

Another neat feature is the backup function that appears in your account settings:

If you haven’t given LucidPress.com a try, I strongly encourage you to do so!


Make Donations via PayPal below:


Everything posted on Miguel Guhlin’s blogs/wikis are his personal opinion and do not necessarily represent the views of his employer(s) or its clients. Read Full Disclosure

var _gaq = _gaq || []; _gaq.push([‘_setAccount’, ‘UA-3445626-5’]); _gaq.push([‘_setDomainName’, ‘mguhlin.org’]); _gaq.push([‘_trackPageview’]); (function() { var ga = document.createElement(‘script’); ga.type = ‘text/javascript’; ga.async = true; ga.src = (‘https:’ == document.location.protocol ? ‘https://ssl’ : ‘http://www’) + ‘.google-analytics.com/ga.js’; var s = document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s); })();

Leave a Reply

